RSS Feed

Homily: Fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time [B]

Perhaps we could spend some time examining our preconceptions about whom we consider “worthy” of leading or teaching us. How do we even begin to look at one another with the eyes of God, to see in the most unexpected of people those whom God has chosen to lead?
Kate Huey

The readings for the Fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time cycle B (Mark 1:21-28) can be found here.

The scripture scholar will tell you that the scribes taught through the words and deeds of Rabbis and the OT scripture. This is where they derive their authority.

Jesus, unlike the scribes, did not teach by leaning on the authority of the Jewish establishment. Jesus taught by his own authority, and the people were amazed.

The scripture scholar will also tell you that Jesus’ teaching was more than mere words. Jesus taught through His healing deeds. Healing the man with the unclean spirit is one of the many healing stories of Jesus and healing is a significant theme of Mark’s Gospel.

They point to the very prominent role that healing plays in the Gospel records. These stories also deepen our understanding of Jesus’s message, showing that God’s healing action can come through human instruments used to usher in the Kingdom of God.
Francis Geddes (Contemplative Healing: The Congregation as Healing Community) p. 21

What does it mean to be a healing community? Just like Jesus, we need to place healing people’s suffering at the center of our deeds. Our communities must be grounded in compassion for all creation.

In the Gospel account for this Sunday, Jesus didn’t look at the man to determine if he was worthy before healing him. We are asked to heal those we disparage, judge unacceptable or as unimportant without assessing worthiness.

People who are broken, entrenched in poverty, suffer from violence and injustice need our love and healing.

This is not something we can simply add to our list of intentions at Sunday Mass. It is not something we can hand-off to the parish priest. We need to perform the deeds, just as Jesus did. If we are successful people will be amazed and wonder under what authority we teach and heal.

“Ye cannot live for yourselves; a thousand fibres connect you with your fellow-men, and along those fibres, as along sympathetic threads, run your actions as causes, and return to you as effects.”
Reverend Henry Melvill

If you take one thing away from this homily it should be that our communities are a source of God’s healing power. We are asked to look around and see who in our lives needs healing. In our compassion and through our Church we can be an agent of healing for those who suffer. Jesus showed us the way, and now it is our turn.

God bless,

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

6 responses »

  1. My wife is Catholic, and I go to a Bible believing and teaching church… I post 7 days a week on “Gods group” (the lightening strike) Would love to chat with you on FB or by e-mail, to pick UR brain…

    Blessings in Christ, bruce

    Reply
    • Dear Bruce,
      Thank you for reading the blog. I don’t post on FB, my apologies. I have taught Bible studies for many years, but nobody ever wants to pick my brain. I do appreciate your blog. God bless,

      Reply
      • So you’re saying we won’t be able to communicate through e-mail ?? You want help in changing the Catholic churches ideas on evangelism ?? We can collaborate together in this endeavor…

        Blessings in Christ, bruce

      • Dear Bruce,
        Please don’t misunderstand. The Holy Spirit prepares people to take the next step in the faith journey. Each person is drawn forward to grow in faith, but too much too quickly can harm. I have no skill at discerning what people can handle and I worry. I have a desire to lead people to take the next step, as I seek out people who can take me to my next step. We all can only go one step at a time.

        We could help each other to grow in faith, but first you need to understand I lack the ability to know when to stop sharing. My children have learned to tell me to stop and my wife does not read my blogs. A person has to be strong enough in their faith to show no fear about any question. People tend to become angry when their trusted world view is challenged. That is why I said people do not seek me out. If you can handle questions that challenge everything you believe to be true without getting angry we can effectively communicate.

        God bless,

  2. We have much in common, as my wife doesn’t read my blogs, or even want to talk about God… I believe in sharing the truth in love, and could never be angry if the truth from God’s inerrant Word is revealed !!

    Blessings in Christ, bruce

    Reply

Leave a Reply

