RSS Feed

How to Catechize

“…let God work through us, to share the Good News despite ourselves and our weakness, in love.”

Charlotte was Both

Today’s antithetical moment was all about me going through Augustine’s First Catechetical Instruction while working on my tan.

Sorry, St. Augustine.

As a Catholic Writer, one of the things I think about a lot is Why be a Catholic Writer When It’s All Been Said Before? 

And from that, I don’t back down.

Because it has, and far more substantively than any of us are saying it today.  You can spend all the money you want on all the newest BE AN AWESOME CATECHIST GUYS resources, but really, St. Augustine says it better.

(Shocked Face)

I have a couple of print editions of the work, but of course it’s easily available on line. 

(Although that translation is older and less understandable than newer versions.)

The genesis of the work is simple and pastoral.  A deacon wrote to Augustine seeking help on catechesis – specifically, the stage of catechesis…

View original post 1,308 more words

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

Leave a Reply

