RSS Feed

St. Francis of Assisi

Excellent read. Wonderful review.

Charlotte was Both

This is a repost from almost a year ago.  I have pulled out this book again in preparation for a book I’m working on, and will post further reflections in coming days.  It’s a very important book, and of great interest, with our new Pope Francis. 

I’m going to go on a limb here and say that when this book is published (April 30), anyone and everyone who has the least bit of interest in the following topics should read it:

  • St. Francis of Assisi
  • Spirituality
  • Religious Life
  • Catholic history
  • Discipleship
  • Saints

…so that includes almost everyone here, right?

This is an important book, and I’m so grateful to have a review copy.  Long – long – time readers might recall what a revelation Fr. Thompson’s previous work, Cities of God: The Religion of the Italian Communes 1125-1325 was to me back in 2006.   It was a…

View original post 543 more words

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

Leave a Reply

