RSS Feed

How To: Begin New Evangelization

Surfers, I would like to offer you an alternative to the Vatican directed guidance to New Evangelization. Read the words of John Shelby Spong. If you find it difficult to accept this level of inclusion pray for guidance. Our Catholic leaders need to remove barriers to Jesus. That is what will make New Evangelization a success.

“I know of an Episcopal church that has a sign on its door proclaiming: “The only pre-requisite for receiving Holy Communion in this church is that you be hungry.” I recall a Jewish friend of mine who after receiving communion in my church said that since the Last Supper was the first Christian Eucharist, he thought it ought to be noted that all of the Jewish disciples who received the bread and wine from Jesus on that night had neither been baptized or confirmed and yet they were not excluded.

When Jesus was quoted as having said, “Come unto me, all ye that travail and are heavily laden and I will give you rest,” he seemed not to exclude anyone. When the church sings the hymn “Just as I am without one plea—O Lamb of God I come” it seems to announce a radical inclusiveness.

In the “Parable of the Judgment” related only in Matthew’s gospel, the only standard for judgment in the Kingdom of God appears to be the ability to see the presence or face of God in “the least of these,” who are our brothers and sisters. The activities of attending church, assenting to the creeds or being baptized do not seem to be pre-requisites.”
John Shelby Spong

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

Leave a Reply

