RSS Feed

Are Protestants Simply Lapsed Catholics?

In this blog post, surfers, I would like to ask the question; are Protestants just lapsed Catholics? Let us take a look at the definition put forth by Sr. Mary Ann in a blog post called A Catholic by any other name…

People who seldom go to Mass at all amount to cultural Catholics, whose spiritual identity is Catholicism but who have given up on sacramental practice.
Sister Mary Ann Walsh, RSM: Director of Media Relations, USCCB

I put it to you this way, perhaps Lutherans are simply cultural Catholics who have just given up on the sacramental practice since the time of Martin Luther? I will quote Sr. Mary Ann once again to try to elucidate my point.

… how the Church defines those who leave or gradually fall off. The Church doesn’t refer to them by the name of whatever religion they choose subsequently, say Lutheran or Episcopalian. It doesn’t even refer to those who declare non-belief as atheists or agnostics. Instead, the church calls them as “former Catholics,” “lapsed Catholics” or “ex-Catholics.”
Sister Mary Ann Walsh, RSM: Director of Media Relations, USCCB

… be they lapsed, collapsed, befuddled or bemused, are part of it. They are family, even if they no longer come by for dinner.
-Sister Mary Ann Walsh, RSM: Director of Media Relations, USCCB

Sr. Mary Ann said it best. We are all part of a big family and some of us don’t stop by for dinner any longer. Some have stopped coming to dinner since 1517. It has been a long time.

All right, I know what you are thinking. I am either pudden-headed or being sarcastic. I will let you be the judge of that. I like to think of myself as sincere in a sardonic humor sort of way. I know you will say that it is not fair to take Sr. Mary Ann’s words out of context this way. I made her seem like she was writing about ecumenism when she was simply responding to people disgruntled with the Catholic hierarchy. Sometimes I am given to writing in moments of whimsy.

This notion that we are one big family is one of my foundational principles, and it extends beyond Christianity. I thought that this was a good way to open the discussion. Surfers,what do you think?

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

Leave a Reply

