RSS Feed

HOMOOUSION FOR OUR FUTURE?

This post, surfers, is about consubstantiation. On November 27 The English speaking Roman Catholic Church tweaks the Missal. There are many people who still remember the last change in the Missal (ye olde Latin to English) and in their lifetime there is another change. This one seems small (English to more English) but what do these changes really mean? Why are the Bishops trying to make the Nicene Creed less understood by the faithful?

One word: consubstantial. The leaders were not forced to use this word, they chose it. The Vatican 2 leaders did not decide to use this word, they chose to say “one in Being”instead. Trust me when I say these words were not chosen lightly then and especially with the new revision.

Surfers, I recommend you read a book by Richard E. Rubenstein called “When Jesus Became God.”

As I see it, the further the people in the pews grow in faith and move away from the Church leadership the tighter those leaders hold on. As with the vision of Father Peter Kennedy we can see the future of Roman Catholicism. In an attempt to counter this the Bishops have adopted a posture through the language of the Missal. That posture is argumentative and harkens back to a bloody time in Church history:Athanasius of Alexandria v. Arius of Alexandria.

This one small change speaks volumes to me. The Bishops are dug in and looking for a fight. The spin doctors will say that this is just clarification for the faithful. I say that the faithful will understand the actual word consubstantial less than they understood it before. I ask again, why make it harder for the average person to understand a prayer? I believe that answer is the Bishops have an axe to grind. Tell me if I am wrong.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: New Roman Missal Discussion « Neodecaussade’s Weblog

  2. Pingback: Arianism and the New Roman Missal « Neodecaussade’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

