RSS Feed

Publicly Reject Substitutionary Atonement

I came across some interesting discussions, and I wanted to share them with you. I feel that this is important and I would like to begin discussing this topic. I have a lot to learn.

Dear surfers, I know that there is a lively debate in theological circles surrounding this topic. As an example, try on the following quote:

The atonement story was a myth attached to the Jesus story to give more power to the church and its leadership. It should never have been there. Fred Plumer

I feel that I need to get to know more about Fred Plumer. I have a feeling we have a lot in common, Fred and I. Perhaps you also have a similar understanding? I would like to know.

The debate is not without other proponents of differing opinions. Here is a quote from the USCCB.

Drawing on beliefs of their religious traditions, the Catholic and Evangelical scholars agreed that “Christ’s death on the Cross is the propitiatory sacrifice that satisfies the wrath of God against sin and the expiatory sacrifice that cleanses sin and shame.” They said the understanding of atonement is one of the “life-giving truths” of the Gospel, but acknowledged that the two sides have yet to agree on how these truths should be lived by Christians in their worship and piety.

I did not take any of these quotes out of context. These folks could not be further apart. Truthfully, as a practicing Roman Catholic, I have always deemphasized the whole redemption and original sin business. When the Catholic scholars came out and admitted that Adam and Eve were not real people I was ready to kick atonement to the curb. You feel that too? Perhaps not? I believe it is time to enter this debate.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

Leave a Reply

