RSS Feed

St. Mary’s South Brisbane Fight The Good Fight

Surfers, I have a new issue for your review. I submit for your perusal the woeful story of St. Mary’s in South Brisbane, Australia. What, you haven’t heard of the St. Mary’s debacle? Tap this link for a short review of the trouble.

So we have a popular and growing Catholic Parrish with an inspiring and vibrant leader, but the Archbishop of Brisbane excommunicated the whole lot of them. It would seem that the Catholic hierarchy would be pleased with the growing faithful, not to mention the growing tithes, but they are not. Can you say “remove shoe and shoot foot?”

While I was researching the St. Mary’s business I came across a wonderful blog by CaseyR discussing what matters in growing a Church congregation. While you are visiting CaseyR’s blog leave a word of encouragement.

So if consistency makes the difference, what side of this struggle has the corner on consistency? The Archbishop has a mixed bag of consistency on his side, thanks to Vatican II. St. Mary’s has a mixed bag of consistency on their side with the adoption of new rituals. Should the Archbishop back off? Should St. Mary’s conform to Catholic norms?

I would love to hear what you have to say about this struggle. The future of Christianity starts here.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

One response »

  1. Hey! Thanks for the kinds words and link to the blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

