RSS Feed

Car Park Without White Lines?

I don’t want to bore you, surfers, but I have been on a bit of a Dr. McNab watch, just to see what kicks up in the wake of the New Faith announcement in Melbourne. Wander over to The Scots’ Church page regarding the Ten Commandments.

Close your eyes and picture the chaos: a world where children are taught to disrespect their parents, where you could not trust human relationship because commitments were taken lightly and lies were commonplace, where life was viewed as frivolous and expendable and your property could be taken from you on the whim of a neighbour with impunity.
The Scots’ Church – Melbourne

Sounds absolutely ghastly. The good folks at The Scots’ Church would have you believe that it is only because of the 10 C’s that we act morally. They surmise that if Dr. McNab has his way we would all sink into immoral behavior and debauchery. I ask you, dear surfer, does this sound like a logical argument? I will take that up one more level and ask you; is that the best argument that The Scots’ Church can muster? They went just a bit too apocalyptic, in my opinion.

Now, don’t take my word for it. Perhaps Dr. McNab is taking a page from the book of Chris Pridham? Surf over to his blog and read his thoughts. While you are there you can leave a message of encourgement.

Should Dr. McNab be considered a heretic, or just a man practicing Christian civil disobedience? Is doing something better than doing nothing, even if the something is to challenge the religious authority? Surfers, you must decide for yourself. In the future Christians will look back at these events and laugh, but will they be laughing at Dr. McNab or The Scots’ Church? Time will tell.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

Leave a Reply

