RSS Feed

Flash: God Found In Mundane And Banal

Surfers, I would like to talk to you about a blog I recently came across called Moments Of Glory. The blogger was concerned that his recent postings did not have that inspired zip he is looking for. He claimed to be in a pattern of life where there was only the “status quo” and this was somehow acceptable, but undesired. Do you ever feel like this blogger? Do you lament the fact that those moments of glory are too few and far apart? Is the mean time to moments of glory becoming a longer span?

I could go on, and on, but I am sure you are already looking for the exits. Stay with me on this one. Have you ever heard the term; everything’s relative? No, this is not making some reference to that Uncle everybody has in their family, but nobody wants to talk about him. No, this is about you and what you call a moment of glory. Perhaps just waking up in the morning is a moment of glory for you? It is all relative. I know getting your husband to put down the toilet seat can approach that moment of glory state, hmm?

If you are looking for that moment of glory where the choir can be heard singing Handel’s “Hallelujah Chorus,” then you may have some waiting to do.

Ah! You are searching for God, the idea of God in his essential being. You seek perfection and it lies in everything that happens to you – your suffering, your actions, your impulses are the mysteries under which God reveals himself to you.
Jean-Pierre de Caussade

Surfers, if everything you do reveals God, then you don’t need to wait. When you feel that you are in a pattern of life where you are just supporting the status quo, God is revealing himself to you in that pattern. I am not trying to tell you how to feel, or what to think, but you don’t have to wait for God’s inspiration. Think about it. When you make apple pies, God is there. How can you find God in the mundane activities of life? This is our task at hand. This is the God of the present moment.

Dear blogger, if you would allow me to say, all those postings that you made, and still feel didn’t meet your expectations, are full of God’s grace. God was using you to reach others in each and everyone of those. Keep up the good work, even if it is just status quo. God is in there.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

One response »

  1. Thanks!…for the kind words of encouragement. I suppose, given my theology, that God is in the details of all things; I just need eyes to see and ears to hear.
    Cheers,
    Paul

    Reply

Leave a Reply

