RSS Feed

Give the Present Moment a Try

Surfers, perhaps you have felt the way that thomassays is feeling right now? You keep hoping to receive the voice of God, and trying in many different ways, like flipping through the TV channels looking for God’s public service announcements. Tell me, surfers, have you tried tin foil on the rabbit ears?

Okay, I deserved that audible groan.

Perhaps you have felt the way Street Ministry is feeling right now? You don’t feel like getting out and mixing with others. But you do, then you look back and see how the Holy Spirit provided for you moment by moment.

Now, here is a blog by Bryanniland that might offer more information about how to discern your daily direction.

Dear surfers, here are three examples of regular people managing their daily relationships with God and others. In the past I have tried to bring you examples from the greatest spiritual directors I know, but listening to me can be boring. Who am I? Here in this blog we have spiritual directors by strength in numbers. Others might overlook the teachings. Don’t take my word for it. Let me remind you of the teachings greatest spiritual director I know:

Those who have abandoned themselves to God always lead mysterious lives and receive from him exceptional and miraculous gifts by means of the most ordinary, natural and chance experiences in which there appears to be nothing unusual. The simplest sermon, the most banal conversations, the least erudite books become the source of knowledge and wisdom to these souls by virtue of God’s purpose. This is why they carefully pick up the crumbs which clever minds tread under foot, for to them everything is precious and a source of enrichment. They exist in a state of total impartiality, neglecting nothing, respecting and making use of everything.
Jean-Pierre de Caussade

Surfers, visit the blogs I linked you to. Read them over looking for what others might overlook. Allow the Holy Spirit to move you. If you feel like it, leave a message of encouragement. The greatest spiritual direction may not be the sole property of those wonderful philosophers. I think you can do fine yourself.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

One response »

  1. Thank You! Jeus Christ is so AWESOME,POWERFUL,MERCYFUL,GREAT thats just to list a few! with Love Jason(street ministry)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

