RSS Feed

Anger Of The Establishment

Surfers, I was reading a blog by the Epiphanist on the topic of leaving a Church community. Wander over to the blog and leave a message of encouragement. Welcome them to our little social network. They should know that they are not alone.

The concerns of the Epiphanist are very similar to those I have had. When you are a person of deep faith, the passion shows. It is not always easy to turn it down, and that is when conflicts ensue. Like the time I told the Catholic Priest in my parish that he needed to watch what he said during his Sunday Homily, because he was contradicting what I was teaching to the new converts of the parish. That one went over well (note the sarcasm). I don’t know if he was just shocked that somebody was listening to what he said, or if he just didn’t appreciate that some parishoner called him out on saying things that were not correct. I quickly found myself no longer needed to teach convert classes. The Priest would handle those duties going forward.

This put me on the path for finding a new Catholic Church community. I settled in a larger parish where I felt more appreciated. The Priest was a friend, and the community was more forward thinking. I will cut to the chase and say that Priests don’t stay in a parish forever, and when the management at the very top is always looking through the rear view mirror it makes it hard to keep your nose clean.

I started this blog because I believe that I should not be stuck, with my only access to spiritual advice coming from some little regional community with their small minds, when there is a whole world (www) to be my community. Building a world wide social network of people who are open to grow in spirit is the goal. It is the way that the future of Christianity will develop. You, dear surfers, are the future. The world is your oyster, share God with others.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

One response »

  1. Thanks for the link. I appreciate the difficulties for management and priests who need to look in their rear view mirrors because of people like me who are critical of their actions. The breadth and variation of Christian faith is a bit like the stars in the sky. I agree that in the finish, it is about your own continuing growth, allowing for the possibility that you may have missed something important in the message.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

