RSS Feed

Twitter Community

How can what the heart feels be described when it perceives God’s divine word so shrunken, so beggarly, so prostrated? I was reminded of these words of Jean-Pierre de Caussade, dear surfer, when I was reading a blog about the recent appearance of God, via Twitter. I would like to introduce you to A Thinking Man and a post about our new social networks.

In the interest of full disclosure, I have to confess that Twitter seemed unimportant to me. I heard about it and I went to the Web site several times, but I could not see how I could use it in my life. Also, the blog by A Thinking Man has identified concepts and theologies that are specific to the Twitter composer and not part of the belief of Neo de Caussade. I would like you, surfer, to ignore what the Twitter composer said, and focus on the effect of the interactions. Focus on the benefit that A Thinking Man received and how he appreciated the interaction. That is what is important. What was actually said matters only to the person who receives the message.

A Thinking Man has done us all a great service by sharing this communication with us. This was a brave thing to do. Twitter seemed like a waste of time to me, but A Thinking Man has shown me, and shown us all, that we should not ignore new avenues to communication with our social networks. This was a great lesson, and I am very grateful.

He who recognizes a king in disguise treats him differently from he who sees before him only the figure of an ordinary man and treats him accordingly. Likewise, souls who can recognize God in the most trivial, most grievous and the most mortifying things that happen to them in their lives, honour everything equally with delight and rejoicing, and welcome with open arms what others dread and avoid. The senses despise mean trappings but the heart worships this royal majesty in whatever form it appears, and the more humble its disguise the more the heart is pierced through with love.
Jean-Pierre de Caussade

Take some time, surfer, and visit A Thinking Man’s blog. Try not to focus on the message from God, but read between the lines. Perhaps you might like the message, but see the social networking possibilities. In the future I am sure believers will use Twitter, and others like it, to support one another. While you are at the blog, leave a message of support.

If we practice the teachings of Jean-Pierre de Caussade and work to make the present moment a sacrament, Twitter can help. Think about it; what defines the present moment better than Twitter? I have decided to sign up and begin to use Twitter just to see if it helps me on my journey. I promise to report back to you, surfer, if anything develops.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

One response »

  1. That was cool!
    For more religious talk and debates go to : freewebs.com/christiancommunity
    Trying to get the popularity up so tell everyone you know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

