RSS Feed

50% Return

“I’ve begun worshiping the sun for a number of reasons. First of all, unlike other gods I could mention, I can see the sun. It’s there for me every day. And the things it brings to me are quite apparent all the time: heat, light, food, a lovely day. There is no mystery, no one asks for money, I don’t have to dress up, and there is no boring pageantry. And interestingly enough, I have found that the prayers I offer to the sun and the prayers I formerly offered to ‘God’ are all answered at about the same 50-percent rate.” George Carlin

Surfers, I ran across this blog post by Shawn that I thought you might enjoy. I have to say that Shawn has the longest Blogroll I have ever seen. For this alone I am impressed. Shawn is a brave person, asking questions that most people are not willing to say out loud. How do I talk to God? Shawn leaves the topic open, and does us one better by asking for people in the social network to write their experiences for all of us to see. Take a look at Shawn’s blog and add your experiences to his.

Dear surfers, you are going to find that there is always somebody who will tell you the right way to pray to God. I have no answers, only questions. I do know that if you are willing to listen to other people, like Shawn is, you might learn a little. If not…

I believe that Shawn was moved by the Holy Spirit to open this discussion topic. If you respond, it will be that same Holy Spirit who moves you. Now don’t harangue me about using some old stodgy moniker like the “Holy Spirit” because I didn’t choose the language. Whatever gets the point across to you about how God moves us to share and learn from each other is all it means.

“You are seeking God… and he is everywhere. Everything proclaims him to you, everything reveals him to you, everything brings him to you. He is by your side, over you, around and in you. Here is his dwelling and yet you still seek him. Ah! You are searching for God, the idea of God in his essential being. you seek perfection and it lies in everything that happens to you – your suffering, your actions, your impulses are the mysteries under which God reveals himself to you. But he will never disclose himself in the shape of that exalted image to which you vainly cling.” Jean-Pierre de Caussade.

George Carlin joked that he only received 50% return on his prayer investment. Perhaps he was searching for the idea of God and only half the time he managed to get it right? God has been revealed to me through Shawn. I read the blog and thought to myself; how brave Shawn was to ask an open ended question and solicit responses. The Holy Spirit moved me to link Shawn’s blog to you. I believe this is how we strengthen each other and learn how to pray to God. This will be how communities of believers will form in the coming days. Thank you Shawn for sharing with our social network.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

One response »

  1. Thanks for posting a link to my blog. Also thanks for the kind comments. I enjoy reading your blog and will add you to my long list of inductees. God Bless

    Reply

Leave a Reply

