RSS Feed

Fr. Charles Irvin Homily (15th Sun [A] 2008)

Today, surfers, I have stumbled upon an article I wanted to share with you. I bookmarked it for you, as well. Now, Father Irvin might not agree with the premise for this blog, so I wanted to state for the record that he does not endorse me, nor I him. But, Father Irvin clearly has an understanding of what it will take to move people of faith to the future. As part of my social network I thought you might take something away from his spiritual direction.

The question we must ask ourselves today is: “Well, just what is God’s word for me?” Once we begin to ask questions such as that we will be questing, we’ll be on the pilgrimage of questing God; we’ll be engaged in the search for understanding.
Fr. Charles Irvin

In the future this quest will be multidimensional. The fact that I pulled this homily down from the internet shows some of the many dimensions our social networks will access in the future. How long ago would we not have had acces to Father Irvin; 10 years, 5 years, 1 year? Father Irvin is now a part of our discovery of God. Our little online community of believers is world wide. Your hometown Parish cannot offer that.

More important than the social network aspects, Father Irvin is helping us define how we can practice the Sacrament of the Present Moment. Asking questions, not receiving answers, is where we start.

Each one of us knows – and knows well – that our time is cluttered and jammed, and that our lives have precious little quiet time, time to reflect, in them. However it is in silence, out in the desert where there’s nothing to do, in solitude that we can listen to God’s word and hear what He has to say to us, time in which, like seeds, God’s words can take root within us. Fr. Charles Irvin

Father Irvin is providing us with a method to begin to understand how to practice following the daily word of God. This experience from leaders who have walked the path to understanding God, like Jean-Pierre de Caussade and Saint John of the Cross, lend creedance to our journey and methods.

Many, however, are afraid to be alone. Many feel unproductive in solitude; they feel like there are doing nothing. Many feel that reading the Bible is useless and unproductive. Furthermore, sitting in silence and solitude alone in an empty church is a terribly difficult thing to do for so many. Fr. Charles Irvin

Practice is the key. The communication channels to the Sacrament of the Present Moment only come with practice. Clearly Father Irvin is hampered by the Church authority and has linked his practice activity and methods to a church building. We know that in the future there will be no need of church buildings. I tell you surfer, from my experience, that while you are driving in the car you can listen to God talk. Practice in the car, bus, train, home, park, etc. Don’t wait until you are in a church building.

The message of Father Irvin is inspiring. I realize that I have been focused on the spiritual direction from centuries past. I hope that now you can see that it is the same today as it was then. The universal truth of God guiding our lives will never change. We must re-learn how to tap into that channel of communication. That is what will be required in the future belief in God.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

3 responses »

  1. Fr. Gerhard Wenzel

    Fr. Irvin’s sermons are my favorite source when looking for a good sermon in English. Even I work in Germany and normally preach in my language often the basic ideas I get from Fr. Charles.
    I have been an assistant chaplain for the US army here in Germany for half a year and I used these sermons all the time. Feedback from people was always great.
    Fr. Gerhard Wenzel

    Reply
  2. Fr. Charles G R

    The homilies of Fr. Irvin Charles are most often superb. I discovered his sites on the internet and I always search his homilies the first before consulting other biblical commentators for my homilies here in Tanzania. Keep on doing that so that the world may know the Word of God and its power in our lives. I am not yet to get the homily for 14th Sunday Year A 2011 what’s going on?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

