RSS Feed

Dictatorship of Relativism

Hello again dear surfers. Do you like to be called surfers? I thought I might call you readers, but that is such a passive word. I thought that surfers would be a better term. It implies much more action.

I have for your surfing pleasure today a homily by the Supreme Pontiff B16. Have a gander at that work, and keep it by your bedside when you are having trouble sleeping. Yeah, put it right next to the Neo de Caussade blog posts that you have been using to solve that little insomnia problem you have. I am glad to help.

On a serious note, I would like to draw your attention to some definitions first. I think it is good to establish just what we mean when we say dictatorship and relativism, as they relate to this blog post.

“We are moving towards a dictatorship of relativism which does not recognize anything as for certain and which has as its highest goal one’s own ego and one’s own desires,”

according to B16 in the homily.

I bring this homily out because it can be used as a criticism for the future of belief in God, and of Neo de Caussade. Mysticism, modern spirituality, and new models of social networking may be construed as movements toward the DoR (dictatorship of relativism). Critics may say that eliminating Priests, and their trappings, and following God as our Patriarchs once did is to not recognize anything as for certain. What I can tell you all, for certain, is that most modern Biblical scholars recognize that the New Testament The Letter to the Ephesians was not written by the evangelist Paul. This means that when B16 says;

every day new sects are created and what Saint Paul says about human trickery comes true, with cunning which tries to draw those into error (cf Eph 4, 14)

or

We should not remain infants in faith, in a state of minority. And what does it mean to be an infant in faith? Saint Paul answers: it means “tossed by waves and swept along by every wind of teaching arising from human trickery” (Eph 4, 14). This description is very relevant today!

, he is in the minority of scholars who state that Paul actually wrote those words.

Am I an infant being tossed around on some wave of human trickery to follow the lead of St. John of the Cross? What about Jean-Pierre de Caussade? Were they not mature in their faith? I believe they were mature in their faith, as many others who read and follow their lead.

So B16 is trying to convince you and me that we should not get caught up in the new models of belief in God. We should stick to the the tried and true ways of our traditions, the fundamentals.

Having a clear faith, based on the Creed of the Church, is often labeled today as a fundamentalism.

Have you ever wondered where the Creed of the Church came from? Let us go back to relativism again, shall we? Wikipedia notes that the Nicene Creed was adopted in the face of the Arian controversy. One could say that the criteria for judging the Creed of the Church was relative to which side of the Arian controversy you came down on. One might even say that those who eventually prevailed dictated the relativism for the fundamental beliefs of the Church.

This leads us to another definition for the word idiom. So when B16 tells us that these new upstarts of modern belief in God are movements toward DoR and then tells us we need to fall back on the Creed of the Church, which was by its very definition a DoR, we could describe this using the idiom the pot calling the kettle black.

Please consider that the words I use may be human trickery. Look it up for yourself. Don’t trust me. I don’t have any answers. I only have questions. B16 has answers, and if you need to have solid answers to questions of faith read the Catechism of the Catholic Church. If you want to discuss more questions feel free to surf this blog often.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

Leave a Reply

