RSS Feed

It is Time to Begin

“Into this dark night souls begin to enter when God draws them forth from the state of beginners – which is the state of those that meditate on the spiritual road – and begins to set them in the state of progressives – which is that of those who are already contemplatives – to the end that, after passing through it, they may arrive at the state of the perfect, which is that of the Divine union of the soul with God.” (Saint John of the Cross, 1959)

 

 

In previous posts I hinted at the need for change in our belief in God. Not just any change, but for a change that will stand the test of time. The words of Jean-Pierre de Caussade come to us from the 16th century and the words of Saint John of the Cross come to us from the 14th century. The practices that they urge us to enter into are not new to human experience, and yet we are but beginners. Are you being drawn forth by God to begin a journey where your beliefs will change? I am being drawn forth by God. I am but a beginner with many questions.

 

 

I have no answers.

 

 

If you are looking for answers, this is not the blog for you. If somebody claims to have the answers for belief in God, run the other way. The wisest person will tell you they have much to learn and many more questions than answers. Keep reading and I promise to post many questions. We can answer them together. Welcome, beninner, to our journey.

 

 

References:

Saint John of the Cross. (1959). Dark Night of the Soul (3rd ed.). In (E. A. Peers, Trans.). Gardern City, New York: Doubleday & Company, Inc.

About neodecaussade

I am a Roman Catholic quester. You will find that I have scripture based academic interests. You will discover that I am a conservative Catholic but I am also prone to heterodox tendencies. I am versed in highly pietistic traditionalist practices but I am not a traditionalist. I am interested in entering a discussion on the future of the Roman Catholic Church. I would like to have a role in discussing how the future Church will be shaped.

Leave a Reply

